Under “Messages” you write to others privately, one to one or in a group conversation.
Who may write to you
In the settings under “Messages”, at “Receiving & status”, you decide who may write to you and what others see of your status. Someone who may not write to you only notices when sending.
You can block single profiles for messages. They can then no longer write to you, but profile, following and posts stay as they are.